Centre for Research on Discretion and Paternalism Bergen

RDV-webinar series

The RDV-webinar series is an interdisciplinary webinar where we invite national and international researchers to talk about their pioneering research on topics regarding law, democracy, and welfare. The webinars are open for all.

The webinars are held Thursdays, bi-weekly, from 14:15-15:30 (CET / GMT+1).

The RDV-webinar series focuses on a broad range of topics related to the state and its citizens, and especially the exercise of state power and how it is justified. Important questions include for example how legal strategies are used as political tools (lawfare) to advance human rights and sustainable development goals. On the agenda are, furthermore, discussions about the normative fundament of the welfare state, discretion in the judiciary and amongst frontline professionals in welfare states, the role and impact of paternalism, and the backlash against established democratic rights and institutions across the globe.

The RDV-webinar series is a collaboration between the Centre for Research on Discretion and Paternalism, the Centre on Law and Social Transformation and Western Norway University of Applied Sciences.

How to participate

You can follow our events calendar or revisit this webpage for information on upcoming RDV-webinars and changes to the program.

To receive an invitation to an RDV-webinar of interest, please contact discretion@uib.no.

If the Zoom application is new to you, we recommend that you press the shared link well in advance of the event to download the application. You may leave and rejoin the meeting at any time.

 

Previous RDV-webinars

Thursday, January 13, 14:15-15:30
From macro to micro – ideology and reality in Norway’s market  turn
Postdoctoral Fellow Ola Innset (BI Norwegian Business School)

Thursday, February 10, 14:15-15:30
Children’s consent to welfare services
Professor Tarja Pösö (Tampere University, Finland)

Thursday, February 24, 14:15-15:30
The rules of the game: regulations, practices and women’s participation in Brazilian politics
Researcher Catarina Barbieri (University of São Paolo)

Thursday, March 24, 14:15-15:30
Souverainism, populism and the transformation of the European Court of Human Rights
Professor Mikael Rask Madsen (University of Copenhagen)

Thursday, April 7, 09:15-10:30
Between meritocracy and politicization? A study of the professional expertise of agency heads with and without a party-political background 1980-2020
Professor Jostein Askim (University of Oslo)

Thursday, Desember 2, 14:15-15:45
Epistemic worries about expertise and the design of better policy advice: examples from the NOU system
Professor Cathrine Holst (University of Oslo)

Thursday, November 18, 14:15-15:45
Children, youth, and online risks
Professor Elisabeth Staksrud (University of Oslo)

Thursday, November 4, 14:15-15:45
Child Interviews and the Use of Multimodal Virtual Avatars
Associate Professor Gunn Astrid Baugerud (OsloMet)

Thursday, October 21, 14:15-15:45
Expertise and political legitimacy before, during and after the Covid pandemic
Dr. Alfred Moore (University of York)

Thursday, October 7, 14:15-15:45
Severity and priority setting in health care (SEVPRI)
Senior Researcher Mathias Barra (University of Bergen)

Thursday, September 23, 14:15-15:45
Children’s participation in child protection: International research and practical applications
Professor Katrin Križ & Dr. Mimi Petersen

Thursday, September 9, 14:15-15:45
Legitimacy: a psychology and law perspective
Professor Jonathan Jackson (London School of Economics and Political Science)

Thursday, August 26, 14:15-15:45
How do children and parents experience child protection proceedings?
Professor Stefan Schnurr (University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland)

 

Thursday, June 17, 14:15-15:45
Children’s right to health
Professor Trude Haugli (University of Tromsø)

Thursday, May 20, 14:15-15:45
Child’s right to participation and professional practice in child protection services
Associate Professor Asgeir Falch-Eriksen (Oslo Metropolitan University)

Thursday, April 22, 14:15-15:45
The essence of democratic backsliding in the European Union: Deliberation and rule of law
Professor Pieter De Wilde (NTNU)

Thursday, April 8, 12:15-13:45
Discursive institutionalism: Analyzing the power of ideas and discourse in institutional context
Professor Vivian A. Schmidt (Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies/Boston University)

Thursday, March 25, 16:30-18:00
Understanding the state at the street: Street-level organizations as mediators of welfare state politics
Associate Professor Emerita Evelyn Z. Brodkin (University of Chicago)

Thursday, March 11, 14:15-15:45
The impact of social media on democracy and democratic discussions
Postdoctoral Fellow Ida Vikøren Andersen (University of Bergen)

Thursday, February 25, 14:15-15:45
Interdisciplinary comparative analysis – a lesson to learn from comparative law
Professor Sören Koch (University of Bergen)

Thursday, February 11, 14:15-15:45
Interviews of children exposed to maltreatment, violence, and sexual abuse
Associate Professor Gunn Astrid Baugerud (Oslo Metropolitan University)

Thursday, January 28, 14:15-15:45
The Norwegian NAV-scandal as whodunit: The jurist as culprit, repairman, white knight, and spectator
Professor Kristin Bergtora Sandvik (University of Oslo/PRIO)

Thursday, January 14, 14:15-15:45
Paternalism: children, adults and respect
Emeritus Professor David Archard (Queen’s University Belfast)

Thursday, December 10, 14:15-15:45
Tillitskultur under press? [A culture of trust under pressure?]
Senior Research Fellow Dag Wollebæk (Institute for Social Research)

Thursday, November 26, 14:15-15:45
Undermining rational deliberation and priority setting: Biases in handling medical technology
Professor Bjørn Hofman (NTNU)

Thursday, October 29, 14:15-15:45
The impunity of sextortion
Postdoctoral Fellow Sofia Jonsson (University of Bergen)

Thursday, October 15, 14:15-15:45
Institutional ethnography in the Nordic region: A relevant methodology?
Professor Ann Christin Eklund Nilsen (University of Agder)

Thursday, October 1, 09:00-10:30
The right to development of children
Dr. Noam Peleg (University of New South Wales, Sydney)

Thursday, September 17, 14:15-15:45
Discretion from a legal perspective
Associate Professor Peter Mascini (University of Rotterdam)

Thursday, September 3, 14:15-15:45
Services and support to mothers and newborn babies in vulnerable situations: A study of eight European jurisdictions
PhD Fellow Barbara Ruiken (DIPA) and Dr. Katre Luhamaa (University of Tartu)

Thursday, June 11, 14:15-15:45
Discretion and policymaking in migration control
Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow Frederica Infantino (Migration Policy Centre)

Thursday, June 4, 14:15-15:45
The legitimacy of the ECHR in a shifting Europe
Associate Professor Anine Kierulf (University of Oslo)

Thursday, May 14, 14:15-15:45
Three forms of discretion in welfare services
Professor Tony Evans (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Thursday, February 13, 14:15-15:45
How Europe’s children are protected internationally – the interface between EFTA, EU, Council of Europe, and UNCRC
Senior Lawyer Nuala Mole (The AIRE Centre)

Thursday, January 30, 14:15-15:45
Deliberative systems theory and citizens’ use of online media: Testing a critical theory of democracy on a high achiever
Professor Hallvard Moe (University of Bergen)

Thursday, December 5, 14:15-15:45
The refugee crisis and its aftermath: Understanding local-national dynamics in Norway
Professor Elisabeth Ivarsflaten (University of Bergen)

Thursday, November 21, 14:15-15:45
Social inequality in the employment consequences of ‘health shocks’ in Norway, 1980-2017. A longitudinal register-based study.
Professor Kjetil van der Wel (Oslo Metropolitan University)

Thursday, November 7, 14:15-15:45
Prioritization in the municipal healthcare sector: Prospects and challenges
Associate Professor Anette Fagertun (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences)

Thursday, October 24, 12:15-13:45
Reconciling democratic and  technocratic policymaking: Evidence from the European Union
Associate Professor Adriana Bunea (University of Bergen)

Thursday, October 10, 14:15-15:45
Why is NCA sceptic to specialized courts? A comment based on the review from The Committee of Specialized Courts
Sven Marius Urke (Norwegian Courts)

Thursday, October 3, 14:15-15:45
Paternalism, coercive care and the very poor
Associate Professor Christian Pères Muñoz ((Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)

Thursday, September 26, 14:15-15:45
Social media and celebrification of children
Dr. Emma Nottingham (University of Winchester)

Thursday, September 12, 14:15-15:45
Child welfare – Decision-making in evolving contexts
Emeritus Professor Rami Benbenishty (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Thursday, August 29, 14:15-15:45
Adoption from care or continued public care – are children involved in decision making?
Research Assistant Amy McEwan-Strand (DIPA) and Professor Marit Skivenes (DIPA)

Tuesday, August 13, 14:15-15:45
Whose children? Protecting unaccompanied migrant children in Europe: A case of diffused responsibility?
Associate Professor Ingi Iusmen (University of Southampton)

Thursday, June 6,, 14:15-15:45
Aktivering og sanksjonspraksis i NAV 
Professor Lars Inge Terum (Oslo Metropolitan University)

Thursday, May 23, 14:15-15:45
Making collaborative work: Promoting innovative networking initiatives in local and regional child welfare and protection services
Professor Janne Irén Paulsen Breimo (Nord University)

Thursday, April 25, 14:15-15:45
Alternative models for regulating clinical pathways in specialist health service
Torunn Janbu (Norwegian Directorate of Health)

Thursday, April 4, 14:15-15:45
Voluntary care removals
Dr. Kenneth Burns (University College Cork)

Thursday, March 28, 14:15-15:45
Conceptualizing health to leave no one behind
Associate Professor Kristine Bærøe (University of Bergen)

Thursday, February 28, 14:15-15:45
Child removal as a last resort: Comparing the state’s support to families at risk in Europe
Researcher Katre Luhamaa (DIPA)
Breaking the cycle: Towards solidarity with future mothers in care which focus on the solidarity aspect of the removal of newborn babies in eight European Countries
Postdoctoral Fellow Jenny Krutzinna (DIPA)

Thursday, February 14, 14:15-15:45
Prinsipper for prioritering i den kommunale helse- og omsorgstjenesten
Aud Blankholm (Blankholmutvalget)

Thursday, January 31, 14:15-15:45
Human rights and child welfare
Marius Emberland (Attorney General’s Office)

Thursday, January 17, 14:15-15:45
Work and health: The role of the regular general practitioner
Associate Professor Silje Mæland (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences)

Thursday, December 6, 14:15-15:45
Justifying removals of newborn babies: A cross-country analysis of judiciary decision makers reasoning of parental capacities
Postdoctoral Fellow Jenny Krutzinna (DIPA) and Professor Marit Skivenes (DIPA)

Thursday, November 22, 14:15-15:45
Community music therapy as participatory practice in a child welfare setting
Associate Professor Viggo Krüger (University of Bergen)

Thursday, October 25, 14:15-15:45
Is selectivism preferable to universalism in social and health policy?
Professor Einar Øverbye (Oslo Metropolitan University)

Thursday, September 27, 14:15-15:45
Sustainable development goals and the new global order
Associate Professor Tor Halvorsen (University of Bergen)

Thursday, September 13, 14:15-15:45
Et juridisk blikk på legers beslutningsprosesser i liv/død-avgjørelser
Associate Professor Marianne Bahus (University of Agder)

Thursday, August 30, 14:15-15:45
European Court of Human Rights’ directions on newborn removals
Researcher Katre Luhamaa (DIPA) and Professor Marit Skivenes (DIPA)

 

Thursday, June 14, 14:15-15:45
Professional discretion: Terms and conditions within neoliberal governing
Professor Tor-Johan Ekeland (Volda University College)

Thursday, May 31, 14:15-15:45
Familiebasert arbeid i norsk velferdsregime
Professor Siv Oltedal (University of Stavanger)

Thursday, May 3, 10:15-11:45
The impact of EU law in the health care sector
Professor Markus Frischhut (MCI)

Thursday, April 19, 14:15-15:45
Borgerskap i lys av “barnets/personens beste” og “manglende beslutningskompetanse”
Associate Professor Vibeke Erichsen (University of Bergen)

Thursday, March 22, 14:15-15:45
Prioriteringer i den kommunale helse- og omsorgstjenesten
Benedicte Løseth (Bergen Municipality)

Thursday, March 8, 14:15-15:45
Three levels of mutual recognition in law (related to global justice)
Professor Lars Blichner (University of Bergen)

Thursday, February 8, 14:15-15:45
The role of consent and objection in child protection decision making: The Finnish model
Professor Tarja Pösö (Tampere University)

Thursday, January 25, 14:15-15:45
Prioriteringsveiledere: Bakgrunn, utvikling og utfordringer
Elizabeth Nygaard (Norwegian Directorate of Health)

Thursday, December 7, 14:15-15:45
Regulering av skjønnsutøvelse: Norske legers holdninger til prioriteringsveiledere 
PhD Candidate Irene Aase Kvåle (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences)

Thursday, November 23, 14:15-15:45
Professionalle bedömningar: Teoretiska och metodologiska perspektiv
Associate Professor Lisa Wallander (Lund University)

Thursday, November 9, 14:15-15:45
Løpebaner i arbeidslivet og trygdesystemet de siste 20 årene: Har man nådd målsetningen om å få flere sårbare inn i arbeidsstyrken?
Professor Thomas Lorentzen (University of Bergen)

Thursday, October 26, 10:00-16:15
Democracy, technocracy and health priority setting
Assistant Professor Matthew McCoy (University of Pennsylvania), Associate Professor Kristine Bærøe (University of Bergen), Dr. Gert Jan van der Wilt (Radboud University), PhD Candidate Maarten Jansen (Radboud University), Ole Frithjof Norheim (University of Bergen)

Thursday, September 28, 14:15-15:45
Comparing legal cultures
Professor Jørn Øyrehagen Sunde (University of Oslo)

Thursday, September 14, 14:15-15:45
Avveiningen mellom justismord og falske frifinnelser 
PhD Candidate Jon Kåre Skiple (University of Bergen) and PhD Candidate Henrik Bentsen (University of Bergen)

Friday, August 25, 18:00-20:00
Launch of the ERC project: Discretion and the Child’s Best Interest in Child Protection
Professor Marit Skivenes (DIPA)

Friday, August 25, 12:00-13:30
Implementing Child Rights in Norway: Book project
Professor Malcom Langford (University of Oslo), Professor Marit Skivenes (DIPA) and Professor Karl Harald Søvig (University of Bergen)

Westen Norway University of Applied Sciences
Centre for Law and Social Transformation
discretion-logo16_9